Affine.for iteration arguments

Hello,

I am a Master student in Computer Science and Engineering and I am investigating affine dialect and more closely affine.for operation and the loop optimization possibilities. I have encountered 2 issues related to the iteration arguments that I have not been able to find the explanations for. However, if there is already a similar topic opened that I wasn’t able to find, sorry for the duplication.

1. Why is -affine-loop-invariant-code-motion pass moving the operations that don’t depend on the induction variable, but they do depend on other iteration variables? Here is an example that is failing when pass is applied as such operation is moved out of the loop although it depends on the iteration argument:
  func @example1(%arg0: memref<1000xi32>, %arg1: memref<1000xi32>) {
    %c2 = constant 2 : index
    %0 = affine.apply affine_map<(d0) -> (d0 - 2)>(%c2)
    %1 = affine.for %arg2 = 2 to 1000 iter_args(%arg3 = %0) -> index {
      %3 = affine.load %arg0[%arg3] : memref<1000xi32>
      affine.store %3, %arg1[%arg2] : memref<1000xi32>
      %4 = affine.apply affine_map<(d0) -> (d0 - 2)>(%arg2)
      affine.yield %4 : index
    }
    %c999 = constant 999 : index
    %2 = affine.load %arg0[%1#0] : memref<1000xi32>
    affine.store %2, %arg1[%c999] : memref<1000xi32>
    return
  }
  • Here is the error I am getting:
 note: see current operation: %1 = "affine.load"(%arg0, %arg3) {map = affine_map<(d0) -> (d0)>} : (memref<1000xi32>, index) -> i32
 note: operand defined as a block argument (block #0 in a child region)