LLVM Discussion Forums

Std::vector vs. llvm::SmallVector - why does one leak?

I was rewriting some code to use llvm::BumpPtrAllocator and std::vector, and once I’d finished MSAN began reporting a memory leak. I tried using llvm::SmallVector, and the leak went away. I’m not very good at C++, so I was hoping I could get help understanding why.

Originally, I had classes like this:

struct MyObject {};
struct MyContainer {
  std::vector<std::unique_ptr<MyObject>> objects;
  MyContainer(std::vector<std::unique_ptr<MyObject>> &objects)
    : objects(std::move(objects)) {}
};

This worked great, no leaks – but my header files became unwieldy, because the std::unique_ptr above can’t be used with a forward declaration of MyObject.

So to avoid this problem, I tried allocating my objects using llvm::BumpPtrAllocator. I wrote a simple test case for this:

struct MyVector {
  std::vector<MyObject *> objects;
  MyVector(std::vector<MyObject *> &objects)
};

TEST(AllocatorTest, Vector) {
  llvm::BumpPtrAllocator allocator;

MyObject *myObject = new (allocator.Allocate<MyObject>()) MyObject();
  std::vector<MyObject *> objects;
  objects.push_back(std::move(myObject));

MyVector *vector = new (allocator.Allocate<MyVector>()) MyVector(objects);

// Destructor must manually be called here, otherwise LeakSanitizer reports:
  //
  //   Direct leak of 8 byte(s) in 1 object(s) allocated from:
  //     #0 0x4f6488 in operator new(unsigned long) llvm-project/compiler-rt/lib/asan/asan_new_delete.cc:99:3
  //     #1 0x5006a3 in void std::vector<MyObject*, std::allocator<MyObject*> >::_M_realloc_insert<MyObject*>(__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<MyObject**, std::vector<MyObject*, std::allocator<MyObject*> > >, MyObject*&&) /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/8/../../../../include/c++/8/bits/vector.tcc:427:33
  //     #2 0x4f96e6 in AllocatorTest_Vector_Test::TestBody() examples/unittests/llvm/Support/AllocatorTest.cpp:45:11
  vector->~MyVector();
}