Some Tips for Me

Hello everyone,
I want to develop projects with LLVM, so I am new in LLVM (not new in programming and computer architecture). Is there anybody to help me to make a roadmap to learn LLVM? How can I find resources, and from where? I do not have enough information to start to learn LLVM.
Thanks.

1 Like

I’ll give it a try. First of all, welcome!

I’d say the first question to answer is: What are you interested in? Compilers ? Linkers ? Debuggers ?
LLVM is an umbrella with all kinds of projects.

Assuming that you’re interested in compilers, as I guess most people, are you interested in front-end, middle-end or back-end ?

If you don’t have a general knowledge of compilers, let me make a (probably bad) attempt at explaining them really fast:

• Front-end: It takes your e.g., C code, understands its structure and semantics and outputs some intermediate representation of the code. This is passed to the “middle-end”
  • Middle-end: It does “target-independent” optimizations i.e., (theoretically) they don’t depend on whether you’re compiling for x86, arm etc. Things like loop-unrolling, inlining etc.
  • Back-end: It does target-dependent optimizations (e.g., instruction selection; what instructions of the ISA am I going to use?) and then outputs assembly.

Some initial resources overlap between these, but at least the distinction between front-end and the other two is important.

Best,
Stefanos

1 Like

First, thank you for your reply and your kind welcome. :] I want to explain myself simply. I am interested in compilers (as I understand from your reply). I am aware of this distinction anymore, thanks.