ReturnAddressLocation

Context

I’m currently working on an DSL embedded in Swift which constructs MLIR. Swift has some nice EDSL features, but unfortunately some of them do not make it easy to access the caller’s location information. For functions, there are magic keywords (#file, #line, etc) that are similar to the __FILE__ and __LINE__ macros in C. Swift also has operators (x ^ y), literals (let x: MyCustomType = 42) and computed properties (var x: Int { return 42 }) all of which do not have mechanisms to access their associated source locations. Some of this could be addressed by improving the language (operators, for instance, could be enhanced to provide this information) but I don’t see a straightforward way to add this information to literals or properties. I’m not an expert, but I could imagine other languages (even C++) might face similar challenges accessing location data everywhere, potentially due to things like callbacks, inheritance or ABI concerns.
As I was thinking about this, I realized that there is an alternative mechanism for accessing source location information: debug symbols. I’ve cooked up a proof-of-concept both in Swift and C. Both of these examples are far from robust (the most pressing issue I have at the moment is selecting which dyld image slide to use when calculating the symbol address), and completely platform-specific.

Pitch