Non-byte-oriented targets?

Complete newbie here. (Sorry if this is common knowledge or a FAQ. If so, please point me to the reference doc that covers this.)

Can LLVM be used (reasonably, efficiently) for target machine architectures that know nothing about BYTES? I.e. for (old) word-oriented machines, in which the concept of (hardware) 8-bit bytes does not exist, and the word bit-length is not a power of 2?
If specifics are needed to give a good answer, then here is the specific case I am looking at:
word bit-length: 60
instruction bit-lengths: 15, 30, 60
address-register bit-length: 18

Thanks.

I believe LLVM is technically speaking written in such a way to be independent of the size of a byte (and possibly whether bytes even exist), but as far as I know, there currently is no backend where that is the case. So this is very much untested territory. Therefore there isn’t really a clear answer until someone makes the investment in writing a backend for an architecture that doesn’t have 8 bit bytes.

I believe there are a number of somewhat separate concerns here, with maybe different levels of leverage of the existing code.

Firstly: The LLVM architecture-independent IR is certainly capable of representing instructions with arbitrary data sizes. It is possible to describe arbitrary bitwidth data in an architecture independent way. The LLVM backend infrastructure is slightly less flexible: although it can represent arbitrary data types, portions of the infrastructure require these types used in machine code to be enumerated a-priori. Here as long as you have a small number of machine types, things should still be OK and you can leverage most of the code generation mechanisms. Some parts of the code generation infrastructure do require power-of-two instruction sizes, but you might be able to hack around that relatively easily.