[MLIR] Clarifications about memrefs / vectors / tensors

Hello everyone.
I’m quite new to the LLVM & MLIR world, and although I read the documentation multiple times I still have some doubts about vectors, tensors and memrefs. Is there any example demonstrating when each of them are best suited to be used? From what I’ve understood, memref is a generic reference to a buffer (allocated with alloc or alloca), but what about tensors and vectors? How can I instantiate them?
For example, if I want to declare a function, would it better to declare it as

func @foo(%arg0: vector<2xf32>) -> vector<2xf32> {
            return %arg0 : vector<2xf32>
    }

or

func @foo(%arg0: memref<2xf32>) -> memref<2xf32> {
            return %arg0 : memref<2xf32>
    }

?

In the first case, if I want to modify the vector elements, do I have to rely on the vector dialect? And If I want to return a new vector, how can I allocate and populate it (alloc and alloca both return memrefs)?
In the second case, instead, do I have to use loads / stores only?

To clarify more about my doubts: considering a C function like foo(float v[2]), emitting its LLVM IR gives

@foo(f32* %0)

which is none of the previous cases. I suppose the vector case is the most similar one, but I’m not sure about this.

Forgive me the surely stupid question, but I’m getting headaches trying to find out when to use what.

Hi mscuttari,

the closest representation of your C-code would be a memref. Memrefs represent buffers in memory, similar to a C-array. You can load elements from memrefs and operate on them using e.g. the Standard dialect.