LLVM Logo Redesign

Hi all, I have been working on a new logo for LLVM as a bit of a personal project. I speak to the rational below but I’ve finally arrived at something I’m happy with and it’d be great to begin getting some impressions / feedback from the wider community.

Redesigned Logo

This design is made up of all of the LLVM letters arranged into a wyvern dragon.

LLVM_animation

The logo performs well at small sizes without modification. I might create a modified version for 16px to optimise the pixel boundaries on the svg as it’s right on the limit of “too blurry” IMO but I’m holding off on that for now.

Variations

Raised Tail

Rationale

First of all I should say I’m not a designer, I work as a programmer during the day (well mostly night) so take the following with as many asterisks as you want.

I’m not a fan of the current logo. It’s a nice image but I wouldn’t call it a logo, more of a emblem or a mascot. It also gives me Yu-gi-oh or Pokémon vibes and while I admit I’m not up to date on the latest Pokémon generations I am pretty sure Compilermon isn’t in the Pokédex.

Current Logo

I decided that rather than complaining about it I would try my hand at creating my own version. It took a bit longer than I wanted (something like 30 variations sitting on my hard drive) but I’m pretty happy with what I’ve ended up with.

Would be cool to hear some thoughts or see if anyone else wants to have a shot at designing a logo as well.

Best,
Haikü

8 Likes

This looks good to me. Many of these points were brought up over a decade ago for the old logo and I generally agree that the current version, while an improvement, still suffers from many of the same criticisms.

A few users in the reddit thread asked for a few mock ups of how this logo would integrate with the existing website. As it currently exists the front page of llvm.org does not actually display the current logo but it would be easy enough to insert.