Linagl VS Affine

Hi, community!

I’m a beginner of MLIR and didn’t have much experience with it.
After reading these docs: Linalg Dialect Rationale: The Case For Compiler-Friendly Custom Operations, ‘linalg’ Dialect, ‘affine’ Dialect, I found quite confusing about the relationship between Linalg dialect and Affine dialect.

1. I have read that Linalg stands on the HHO level, which is higher than the MHA level which Affine stand, but I think I didn’t understand what it actually means when optimizing a DL op like conv2d. Could you please show me an example of that? And I didn’t quite clear what does the Linalg is intended to complement Affine rather than replace it mean.
  2. I found we have linalg.conv_2d_nchw_fchw in Linalg IR. but after convert-linalg-to-loops, the conv op seems gone. So do we have any method to keep this op until lowering to LLVM, then call it in cudnn.so, or something like that?
  3. Besides, we have a simplified poly form in MLIR: The case for a simplified polyhedral form, so do we use it in Linalg or Affine?

Thanks!

All of these “rationale” docs are outdated to a different extent. We keep them as justification for past design decisions. We should probably add dates to them so people know what to expect.

These levels are purely a mental exercise at dialect layering. What it actually means is Linalg having a possibility to define and use a “conv2d” operation with the attached semantics. So the compiler can do understand that the operation is a 2d convolution. Affine operates on loops, so one would have to spell out the four loops that make up the 2d convolution. At this level, the compiler need to do some non-trivial analysis to understand that these four loops along with the operations in their body are in fact a 2d convolution.

This means that Linalg can be converted to Affine and further transformations can be performed on that representation if desired.