Is there a tool helping translate a C code into MLIR?

Good afternoon!

I am new to MLIR, after playing with the toy dialect, I am interested in trying to use MLIR to optimize some of my old class projects written in C.
Is there any tool we can use to translate a C code(like printf(“Hello world\n”):wink: or Python code into .mlir form?

Thanks a lot!

There is nothing upstream, but several people mentioned working on C-related dialects. Here’s one example Playing around with a C dialect and wondering about how high-level it should be.

You will have to drive optimizations manually and, at this point, there’s nothing significantly interesting we can do at C level that existing tools don’t already do (i.e., loop transformations with the polyhedral model). Many existing transformations are better suited for a significantly higher levels of abstraction, with structured multi-dimensional arrays and semantically-loaded operations such as “convolution”, which are hard to extract form C abstractions.

We are interested in eventually exploring these kinds of optimizations though, so contributions in that direction are welcome.

1 Like

Hey @Arie, like @ftynse mentioned this is an area I’m exploring. I have a basic MLIR dialect for C that I’m improving, but this week I’ve been focusing on building out my C lexer and parser to be more fully-featured. For example, before this week my lexer did not support the string literal in your example, "Hello world\n", but now it does :slight_smile:

Depending on your specific interests, I could share some code with you: