LLVM Discussion Forums

Clangd not working correctly with emacs+eglot

Hello everyone,

I am new to clangd but not new to language servers. I experimented lsp using emacs with the backends such as cquery and ccls. This time I tried clangd. However, after setup following your documentation https://clangd.llvm.org/installation.html it does not work as the documentation described.

I tried both lsp and eglot, but there are some issues.

I am using emacs in Ubuntu, which is a Windows Subsystem for Linux. I installed clangd-10 using the package management system, apt. After the eglot is enabled, there is no diagnostics and fixes. Finding definitions and hover information does not behave correctly.

I was experimenting with one simple cpp code file. For example, I defined an int variable x. I wrote another line of code which assigns a string literal to the variable x. There is no diagnostics and if I invoke x-ref-find-definitions on x in this line there is a message “No definitions found for: LSP identifier at point.” in the mini buffer. Finally the hover information does not show up as well.

Could I get any help about this here?

Did you also follow the instructions for setting up a project? https://clangd.llvm.org/installation.html#project-setup What does your compile_commands.json look like?

Actually I was doing experiment using a single cpp file. So I did not have a compile_commands.json at first. After you mentioned that, I tried use CMake to generate one.

Here is my compile_commands.json

[
{
  "directory": "/home/drcxd/test_proj/build",
  "command": "/usr/bin/c++      -o CMakeFiles/Tutorial.dir/test.cpp.o -c /home/drcxd/test_proj/test.cpp",
  "file": "/home/drcxd/test_proj/test.cpp"
}
]

This is my source code, could you try this in your environment and tell me if it works correctly?

#include <vector>
#include <string>

int main() {
    int i = 0;

i = 1;
    i = "string";

return void;

}

Just try to jump to definition on the second assignment of i.