Can the 'master' branch be deleted?

Existing links to the ‘master’ branch result in 404 errors now. For example: clusterfuzz/build_afl.bash at master · google/clusterfuzz · GitHub

If the ‘master’ branch is deleted, GitHub will automatically redirect requests to the ‘main’ branch.

If the ‘master’ branch is deleted, GitHub will automatically redirect requests to the ‘main’ branch.

Have you seen this work? I did not think it had been implemented yet.

Yes, here is an example: https://github.com/awslabs/s2n/blob/master/api/s2n.h

See Links to deleted branches now redirect to the default branch - GitHub Changelog

[WesleyRosenblum] WesleyRosenblum https://llvm.discourse.group/u/wesleyrosenblum
February 8

Yes, here is an example: https://github.com/awslabs/s2n/blob/master/api/s2n.h https://github.com/awslabs/s2n/blob/master/api/s2n.h

See Links to deleted branches now redirect to the default branch - GitHub Changelog https://github.blog/changelog/2020-07-17-links-to-deleted-branches-now-redirect-to-the-default-branch/

OK, I see you are talking about web links. I was hoping this was working now
for pushes, but it doesn’t look like it.

-Tom

I was hoping this was working now for pushes

Is that a blocker for deleting master?

Is that a blocker for deleting master?

Yes, we had it deleted for a few days, but people kept pushing to it and re-creating it. For now we just have a place holder branch that is empty to prevent this from happening.